RG17 0EY


of Great B

                                        The WAHO Trophy


The Arab Horse Society congratulate the Winner -  ZAYIN ZACHILLES (2009 chestnut by KAOLINO out of CS Comete) Bred and owned by Mr. Paul  Simmons.   An article will follow In the AHS News Summer Issue.    A successful career on the racetrack and in endurance - in brief his successes are as follows.  Also an AHS  PPS Stallion

  • WINNER of the 7f NAIP Handicap Stakes Dubai International Race day 2016  
  • Winner of 9 races from 7 – 14 furlongs and placed 21 times from 50 starts  
  • Raceform (7/50=9-8-10-3), Reserve ARO Champion 2014 
  • Champion British Bred Arabian Racehorse 2014  
  • AHS Performance Horse Award High Point Racing Champion 2014-15 
  • Advanced Endurance – 2 x 80 km Grade 1 in 2021  

Credit for photo below GJ Media 
WAHO Winners
2022  Zayin Zachilles
2021  Zyta
2020  Els
2019  Redhouse Romeo
2018  Mukhtar Ibn Eternity
2017  Eastworth Amoshini

2016 Jammilah

2015 Silvern Prince

2014 AV Kubla Khan

2013 Kamillah

2012 Al Reeh Janoob

2011 Vlacq Gilfae

2010 Ibn Ajwaad

2009 Maleikero

2008 Taragun

2007 Imad

2006 Franzara

2005 PHA Silvern Risalm

About the Award

The WAHO Trophy is a unique bas-relief bronze sculpture of the “WAHO horse” logo. The sculptor is a German artist, Mrs. Brigitte Eberl. Each WAHO member country participates in their own award.

Since 2005 the UK WAHO Trophy has presented annually to one UK bred Arabian horse chosen by the AHS Council from nominations submitted to them. WAHO asks that the AHS should look for an Arabian horse which has in some way been an excellent “ambassador” for the breed or, in the case of older horses, has achieved the same through its immediate progeny. Furthermore, the WAHO Trophy can of course be awarded for a different reason or category each year. WAHO also asks our Society to give this careful consideration, and use broad parameters when making the choice.

The winner must be a Pure Bred Arabian registered in the Arab Horse Society Stud Book and have been bred and still domiciled in the UK. It must also be present at the Show to receive the award.

The Trophy & Certificate
The bas-relief bronze sculpture is an Annual Challenge trophy, so it must be returned to Agriculture House by end February 2023 to be awarded to a new winner in July at the AHS National Championship Show

A special Certificate commemorating the award will also be provided by WAHO, suitably inscribed with the name of the winner and presented as a permanent reminder to the recipient of the wonderful achievement.

How to nominate a horse for the WAHO Trophy

Nominations for the Award should be submitted on the WAHO Trophy Nomination form and sent to The Chairman of the Stud Book & Registration Committee at Agriculture House by the end of February 2023. Electronically to will be accepted.  The trophy will be presented at the 2023 National Show and the winning horse must be present at the Show